Exploring trends in strategic communication

The second edition of the Asia-Pacific Communication Monitor identifies the importance of social media influencers, digital and management capabilities of practitioners, development needs, contributions of communication departments to corporate success, and much more. Explore yourself!

APCM Collage

The Asia-Pacific Communication Monitor

The Asia-Pacific Communication Monitor (APCM) is a bi-annual, transnational study exploring strategic communication practices in the region. The first report has been published in late 2015 and the second edition in late 2017.

Similiar surveys are conducted in other regions of the world: the European Communication Monitor (since 2007), the Latin American Communication Monitor (since 2014/2015), and the North America Communciation Monitor (forthcoming). More than 5,000 practitioners are surveyed in each wave of the series. Together, these studies form the largest empirical research in public relations worldwide with more than 105,000 research reports downloaded or printed and numerous articles in several languages published until now.

Living up to highest academic standards, the APCM is run by a network of renowned professors from universities in the region, organised by EUPRERA, Quadriga, and the Asia-Pacific Association of Communication Directors (APACD), supported by PRIME Research, NTU Singapore and RFI Daylight. Privacy is fully respected.

Core research professors and team

  • Jim Macnarama, UTS University of Technology Sydney
    May O. Lwin, NTU Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
    Ana Adi, Quadriga University of Applied Sciences
    Ansgar Zerfass, University of Leipzig & EUPRERA

  • Research professors and national contacts

    Xianhong Chen, Huazong University of Science and Technology, China; Regina Yi-Ru Chen, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong; Jaishri Jethwaney, Institute for Studies in Industrial Development, New Delhi, India; Elizabeth Goenawan Ananto, Trisakti University, Jakarta, Indonesia; Junichiro Miyabe, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan; Minjung Sung, Chung Ang University, Seoul, Korea; Kiranjit Kaur, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Selangor, Malaysia; Flora Hung-Baesecke, Massey University, Auckland, New Zealand; Fernando Paragas, University of the Philippines, Diliman, Phillipines; Jeff Chien-Tu Lai, National Chengchi University, Taipei, Taiwan; Parichart Sthapitanonda, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand; Nguyen Thi Thanh Huyen, Vietnam National University, Hanoi, Vietnam.